Bid Calling Champion

2019 Bid-Calling Contest

Champion – Scott Mihalic
Runner-up – Andrew Jossund
3rd – Cody Aasness
4th – Shareif Eisa
5th – Brooke Gillespie

Rookie Champion - Luke Schubert
Ring Person Champion - Bret Walters
Classic Auctioneer - Pat Ediger

I am so humbled and honored to have won the 2019 Minnesota State Auctioneers Contest in Moorhead this past month.  I first competed in 2014 and since then I have meet some of the greatest people and friends from that competition.  Contest like this makes us not only better bid callers but also better people.

I am currently living in Ohio as I mentioned when I won the contest but make New Ulm, Minnesota my home for a week every month to spend time with my children Gabby (9) and Griffin (7).  They were so excited when I called to tell them the news from the contest.  I spent the week before with them until I dropped them at school on Thursday morning.   They talked about the auctioneer contest all week with me and what it would be like and if I would win what a ring would look like.  These are memories I will never forget.  Even though it is not the ideal situation being a 15 hour car ride away I would not trade it for the world. My children are my world and only drive me to be the best that I can.

It is always great to attend a MSAA Conference not only to learn but to reconnect with people and friends I have made along the way.  There is truth behind the saying Minnesota Nice. The kid’s auction on Friday night is always enjoyable to see the kids come and sell every year and the progress that they have made. I would like to that David Whitaker, Dave Thompson and the Minnesota State Auctioneers Association for putting on a great contest and Conference & Show.

Congratulations again to each and every person who competed, and thank you for your kind words and friendship along the way.  I look forward to serving as the Ambassador and representing the State of Minnesota at the International Auctioneers Championship in New Orleans, Louisiana and to continue to promote our great industry in the many years to come!


As I leave you always remember…… “Never get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life”.



Scott Mihalic, CAI

2019 Minnesota State Champion Auctioneer


Past Champions

Hall of Champions
The Hall of Champions is reserved for the current and past Minnesota State Champion Auctioneer. Each Champion was awarded the honor of State Champion Auctioneer at the Minnesota Champion Auctioneer Contest. The contest is the showcase public event held each year at the annual Conference and Show. The contest consists of two divisions – Champion and Rookie. The Champion Auctioneer is determined through a preliminary round of selling three items and a final round of selling three items and answering three interview questions. This winner of this contest represents the industry throughout the coming year and joins a very select group of men and women in Minnesota who hold the title of Minnesota State Champion Auctioneer and are enshrined in the Hall of Champions.

Dave Whitaker


Dave Thompson

Auctioneer Page

Issac Schultz

Auctioneer Page

Tammy Tinsland

Auctioneer Page

John Kuchera

Auctioneer Page

Andrew Bachmann

Auctioneer Page

Austin Bachmann

Auctioneer Page

Kurt Johnson

Auctioneer Page

Matt Schultz

Auctioneer Page

Paul McCartan

Auctioneer Page

Jolene Jokela-Veo

Auctioneer Page

Rod Johnson

Auctioneer Page

Kristine Fladeboe-Dunnink

Auctioneer Page

Kaija Kokesh

Auctioneer Page

Mike Schultz

Auctioneer Page

Troy Orr

Auctioneer Page

Carl Radde

Auctioneer Page

Mitchell Siemers

Auctioneer Page

Matt Maring

Auctioneer Page

Bob Helbling

Auctioneer Page

Loren Seifert

Auctioneer Page

Vince Bachmann

Auctioneer Page

Tracy Holland

Auctioneer Page

Dennis Biliske

Auctioneer Page

LaDon Henslin

Auctioneer Page

Scott Steffes

Auctioneer Page

Cary Aasness

Auctioneer Page

Larry Kroshus

Auctioneer Page

Jim Fahey

Auctioneer Page

Al Wessel

Auctioneer Page